Welcome to Pakistan Information Commission   Click to listen highlighted text! Welcome to Pakistan Information Commission
Skip to content

Public Bodies

The Right of Access to Information Act 2017 applies to a range of public bodies including:

  • All Federal Government ministries (e.g. the Ministry of Finance, the Ministry of Law and Justice)
  • Attached departments (e.g. National Highway Authority, Islamabad Capital Territory Police, Directorate General Special Education)
  • Autonomous bodies (e.g. National Accountability Bureau, National University of Modern Languages, Federal Board of Intermediate and Secondary Education, Capital Development Authority)
  • Local governments (e.g. Tehsil Municipal Administration of Islamabad Capital Territory and Cantonment Boards)
  • Statutory bodies set up under federal law (e.g. Federal Ombudsman Office, Federal Public Service Commission, Securities and Exchange Commission of Pakistan)
  • The courts (e.g. Islamabad High Court, Federal Shariat Court, Supreme Court)
  • National Assembly and Senate of Pakistan (e.g. Senate Secretariat, National Assembly Secretariat, your MNAs and Senators)
  • The Prime Minister Office
  • Any Board, Commission, Council or other body substantially financed by the Government.
  • Special institutions, companies of the Government and NGOs that are substantially financed by the Government are also covered under the law.
Skip to content Click to listen highlighted text!